Top o' the Rim

124 Seconds

Top o' the RimWell, my hopes for getting some great shots with my DIY ND-10 filter fell through thanks to a little assistance from Mother Nature. I was sitting at the very edge of the Mogollon Rim trying to get some shots of a storm moving off of the rim down into the valley below. While looking into the viewfinder to compose a shot I saw a flash of light in my peripheral vision to the north. It seems like I felt the shock wave before I heard the sound of that bolt of lightning. Needless to say I took it as a sign to get my butt away from the edge. Sure enough, as soon as I started packing all my gear the skies opened. I enjoyed a pleasurable ride back to camp in a nice steady rain. Happily it didn’t really start to downpour until I got back in camp and was able to toss the gear safely into the car. Of course, once there another lightning bolt struck about 75 yards away shearing the top of a tree. Definitely glad I was back at camp an not still out on the edge of the rim. I’m sure a close enough strike would have catapulted me right over the edge. This is all I was able to capture. It’s a start. Hopefully I’ll get time to play around with the filter in the near future. For now, enjoy.

Leave a Reply

