Accepting Fate and Moving On


After nearly three years of being a single car family I finally accepted the fact that I most likely won’t ride a motorcycle as my primary transportation ever again. As the kids have gotten older and involved in more activities living with one vehicle had become too taxing on the family, at least where we live. Sadly, Metropolitan Phoenix wasn’t built with public transportation in mind and what is in place is sorely lacking. So after being told by numerous doctors that my days of riding a motorcycle all the time were over I finally accepted my fate and took the plunge to become a two car family; kind of.


If you know me at all you know that I don’t like normal. I am anything but. So for our second vehicle I chose a used Jeep Wrangler. No, it’s not the perfect vehicle but it meets our needs. We will no longer take our trusty Kia Sorento off-roading. Something it is quite capable at but not something a responsible adult should do with their family’s primary transportation. We will miss our off-road excursions in the mighty Sorento but it took only one short jaunt (topless, of course) from Butcher Jones to Four Peaks to have the entire family loving the Jeep. I foresee many hours (you can’t cover many miles with an average speed of 12 mph) of enjoyment for the whole family bounding across the desert in our trusty little Jeep.

While I miss riding motorcycles very much I don’t feel like I can complain. I managed to get 34 awesome years of motorcycling under my belt before it came to an abrupt end and I’m still able to do most of the things I enjoy in life. I cherish the many memories I have and experiences I’ve shared with friends over the years whether track side or bench racing at the local shop. I won’t soon forget these memories, in part thanks to the many aches and pains that are constant reminders of just how much fun I had over the past three and a half decades of motorcycling. Sayonara for now my two-wheeled machines of joy, you’ve been good to me.

Our four-wheeled desert journey ended a spectacular day that began with a short hike at Lost Dutchman State Park. A fantastic way to spend time with the family.

Lost Dutchman State Park

2 comments

  1. David · May 29, 2011

    The sun was hitting the cliffs at just the right time… beautiful

    • JackAZ · May 29, 2011

      Thank you David. I was very pleased to be in the right place as the sun came over the top.

Leave a Reply

