Jess in Vivid Color

Using different colored gels is a great way to liven things up. Heck, just using gels can bring life to an otherwise ordinary photo. I recently had a bride request a purple gel on the background of her wedding portraits (thankfully indigo was close enough) and I thought the request was crazy but gave it a try anyway. I have to give credit where credit is due, the indigo gel on the background light really put some zip into what would otherwise have been ordinary bridal portraits. A series of photo sessions and online discussion over the last few weeks have gotten me thinking about where the art has gone. While I think the mass consumerisation of photography is a good thing for the industry in the long run, some of the speed bumps along the journey are turning into potholes. But, you know what? The same thing happened to the high end audio industry in the late 1970’s and early 1980’s. Remember “hi-fi”? Hang on, have to go change the 8-track. Alright, I’m back.

Anyway, my point is that photography is art, even when it’s a snapshot a parent grabbed of their kid or Gramma Betty grabbed of that pretty flower she’s always doting over. Art is in the eye of the beholder. Stop criticizing the work of others (I didn’t say stop critiquing) and go make some art; even if that requires some crayons and the kids menu at your local dine ‘n dive.

20120516-031039.jpg

Entire post created on a first generation iPad while laying on packs of ice partially on my side. Wow, that’s almost as bad as having to change my 8-track.

Leave a Reply

