One From The Salton

Sonny's Sunset

My time at the Salton Sea was not at all what I expected it would be. I made very few images while there but had an incredible journey and met some fantastic people along the way.

I made this image from the Sonny Bono Wildlife Refuge. I love the isolation of the two lonely trees. Part of my journey on this trip was to use the tools at my disposal to their maximum. In this case I used graduated neutral density filters to play with the gradation of the sun’s light as it settled toward the horizon. Whoever thinks the transition line of a graduated neutral density filter must follow along the horizon is missing out on some unique and creative opportunities in their image making. Sure, there is sun flare, but I was on a journey of exploration, not trying to make the perfect photograph.

Leave a Reply

